D.C. Cherry Blossoms // 2017

CB_08

I have to admit, before moving to D.C. I hadn’t fully realized exactly how big of a deal the cherry blossoms were. Having now spent a day photographing the blossoms and a morning at the Cherry Blossom Parade (as well as admiring the cherry blossom themed Starbucks mugs), I’m completely on board with the obsession.

CB_01

One of those late winter storms hit us in March, causing only about 50% of the cherry blossoms to survive. While bummed about the depleted number, I was still blown away by how much 50% still was! It felt like the entire city had exploded into a sea of pale pink. In my photos, I tried to capture the dreamlike quality that seemed to embrace the trees. I was thankful for the overcast day as well since the haze and soft light were the perfect touch for the images. With that, I hope you enjoy the images as much as I did taking them!

CB_03

CB_07

CB_04

Published by

Kathryn Buckingham

Graphic designer in Washington D.C., occasionally will update my blog with an assortment of photography, literature and film analysis, as well as some personal thoughts.

3 thoughts on “D.C. Cherry Blossoms // 2017”

  1. Wonderful pictures! Have a Happy Easter…your dad comes to Florida tomorrow…can’t wait!

    Love you and miss your! G&G Ken/Pat

  2. Dear Kathryn,

    Thank you for the lovely pictures of the cherry blossoms — we envy you! Have a nice Easter! Grandpa Hank and Jane

Leave a Reply

