Longtime No Write // A Much Delayed Update

There’s something about coffee shops that just makes writing a blog post seem like the right thing to do.

It’s also been forever since I posted on here (an actual blog post that is), and it’s probably about time that I did some updates on here for family and friends. Here’s a quick elevator speech of what my life has been like since I last did a personal update:

I went to Europe for three weeks! I got to spend January in England, Germany, and the Czech Republic and I’m so happy that I did. I learned a lot and got to see some beautiful places, as well as learn a lot about the history of communication and different cities in Europe. I also cried in some churches because let’s face it, gothic cathedrals are gorgeous. I got to spend semester as the Junior Creative Director at Live Oak Communications, and it helped confirm my absolute love of graphic design. I’m still not sure where I’ll be or what I’ll do after I graduate next year but I’ll be damned if I’m not designing in some sort of fashion. I’m helping out on a short film that one of my best friend’s wrote and I’m the Director of Visual Design and Marketing. Make sure to check out our Facebook page and our website! It’s been exciting and crazy and overwhelming, but so amazing at the same time. We’re currently in post-production.

Those are the big parts about this semester in a nutshell! With that highlight reel out of the way, I’m really excited to talk abut my summer plans.

For the first time, I will not be going home for the summer. It’s both terrifying and exciting. Instead of returning to Boise, I will instead spend this summer in Atlanta, GA and I will be a participant of The Creative Circus’ Summer at the Circus Program. The Creative Circus is a portfolio school and I don’t think there are words to describe how excited I am. I get to devote this entire summer to learning about my craft and just creating. Yes I guess I’m technically going to school this summer and will have classes, but I really can’t think of a better way to spend my time. Of course this means I’ll be living on my own (shout out to the internship apartments that were available) and for anyone who knows me, successfully feeding myself is going to be an adventure. But learning about independence and creating at the same time? I’d say it’s going to be amazing summer.

And then I’ll be a senior in college. Yikes. I’m actively choosing to ignore that part, though I am really excited about my classes that I’ll be taking and new experiences that I’ll get to have (those will be in a future post though).

As usual, this semester has had a lot of growth. But now I’m going to be focusing on pushing myself and maximizing my abilities. Not playing a sport anymore has left me with a lot of unused competitiveness, and I think I’ve found some outlets in my creative work. Here’s to never letting go of passion and drive.

Until next time (which hopefully won’t be this delayed),

Kathryn

Published by

Kathryn Buckingham

Graphic designer in Washington D.C., occasionally will update my blog with an assortment of photography, literature and film analysis, as well as some personal thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Longtime No Write // A Much Delayed Update”

  1. Thanks so much for the update….I hear alot from your folks, but your first-hand account was great! Couldn’t be prouder….see you this summer!

Leave a Reply

