Gone Crazy for Gone Girl || Movie Review

I’ve been eagerly waiting for Gone Girl to hit theaters and was able to get to see it yesterday and now that I’ve had a night to sleep on all of the thoughts whirling around in my head, I’m finally able to sit down and begin to write my review of the film. I will do my absolute best to remain spoiler free because I’m adamant that if there’s ever a movie to NOT be spoiled, it’s this roller coaster of a story.

It’s been about two to three years since I first read Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. My mom had originally read it for her book club and told me that it was a must read for me as well. And wow, was she right. I was blown away by the book and I also nearly threw it across the room when I was done (book readers and movie goers will know why). So when I heard about it being made into a movie, I was both excited and nervous. The only thing that eased my trepidation was finding out that Flynn wrote the screenplay and I allowed myself to get caught up in the excitement.

I was not disappointed in the slightest.

Right from the opening clip, David Fincher’s Gone Girl pulls you right into the story. While you do feel aware the length of the movie (clocking in at 149 minutes), you never once feel like you’re losing interest or that it’s dragging. The twists and turns keep you riveted on the action on screen. If you’ve read the book, it’s amazing the great transitions that Flynn was able to make in transposing the story for the film. It’s told in an extremely similar fashion to the story-telling of the book, which I wasn’t sure at first they would be able to pull off.

I was also blown away by the performances of lead actors Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. It might be one of the most perfect castings I have ever seen for a film, and it’s impossible to imagine any other choice. They truly were able to embody their characters in a chilling, yet perfect way. Affleck nails his role as Nick Dunne, the husband who has to deal with the disappearance with his wife while dealing with figuring out what happened and dealing with a police force and town that is questioning his innocence. Affleck is able to transition through the different faces of his character, giving a depth to Nick that is both subtle and explosive at the same time. In a fantastic combination of the writing and his acting, Affleck creates a character that you’re both drawn to and repulsed by. And having only seen Pike in the 2005 remake of Pride and Prejudice, I was beyond floored by her portrayal of the beautiful, yet cold, Amy Dunne. To avoid spoilers I won’t talk much about her role or character, but if she doesn’t received an Oscar nomination I will be severely disappointed. These two roles are both extremes in every aspect and these two actors were able to capture them in such a raw form that it’s almost as if it was originally written for them.

As a cinema student and a sucker for anything aesthetically pleasing, it’s impossible for me to avoid talking about how beautifully the film was made. Fincher, as usual, nailed it. This isn’t just a dark story, this is a dark film. There is no warmth in color or in feeling, and instead we get a glimpse into their characters’ lives just when things are at their worst. Much like Se7en, there’s a detached and sort of cold feeling to the way it is shot. While I haven’t seen as much of his work as I want to, I’ve been lucky enough to be able to listen to and analyze his work in different cinema classes. There are intimate shots of usual objects, and he often just lets the action unfold in front of a stationary camera, not letting us get distracted and instead focusing purely on what’s going on. We are however given a complete vision of what it is that we need to see.

The score for the film adds a lot to it as well. Even though it isn’t a “scary movie” or a movie that has any type of jump scares, the music helps keep you on the edge of your seat. There’s a tension that seems to consistently build, never letting us forget that something bigger is going on.

Overall I couldn’t get over how well made the movie was. It was hands down one of the best adaptations I have ever seen, while also being one of the best new movies that I have seen in a while. Now that I’ve seen it, I find myself itching to reread the book and I can almost guarantee that I will see the movie in theaters again. And if that’s not the mark of success then I don’t know what is.

4 thoughts on “Gone Crazy for Gone Girl || Movie Review

  1. Pingback: Out of this World // Movie Review of INTERSTELLAR | Story of a Phoenix

  2. Wpw! Loved the book and now can’t wait to see the movie! Loved your communication about your classes….wish I was taking them…or at least some of them! Think of you often…Love G&G

Leave a Reply

